Stop with the product placements, “Jon & Kate Plus 8”!

I’ve written about this before on my Home News Tribune blog, but it’s been a while so I’ll say it again:

Enough with the ceaseless product placements already, “Jon & Kate Plus 8”!

Credit TLC

Credit TLC

That was one of the main reasons why I stopped watching the show in recent months – well, that and the fact that they’re scraping the bottom of the barrel when it comes to episode ideas. I mean, come on!  An entire episode revolving around Kate making soup? Or, even better, changing the clothes out from summer to winter? I know these things are necessary evils and we can all relate, but a scintillating episode it does not necessarily make.

Anyway, I digress. Last night, I tuned in because I wanted to learn about the Gosselins’ new home. (Which, by the way,  I still have no idea where it is. Who are they, Batman?) But instead I – along with everyone else watching across the country – was subjected to what amounted to a 10-minute long commercial for Whirlpool Duet washing machines and dryers. Yes, that’s right. The entire opening segment was devoted to Kate’s glee when her washers/dryers (yep, she got two of each) were delivered to their new Bat-home.

But that wasn’t the worst part, oh no. And neither was the repeated ads for said Whirlpool washing machines during the commercial breaks. (You didn’t really think they’d miss that opportunity too, did you?) No, the absolutely worst part was the very end of the show, when Kate is shown doing the laundry. I’m not even going to try to paraphrase her here, because it’s just so ludicrous. You really need to hear exactly what came out of her mouth. So here it is, verbatim:

“It (the Duet washing machine) makes laundry a joy. And I mean that. I love being in my laundry room. <this next line she sings> I love my Duets! <end singing> They’re like having little friends in my laundry room.”

4 Comments

  1. May 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    […] shudder to think what some of those episodes will involve. Considering the show’s incessant product placements (Will I ever forget Kate singing about her Whirlpool Duet washers and dryers? Not bloody likely), […]

  2. May 13, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    […] know, of course, I’m referring to the Whirlpool Duet washers/dryers that Kate couldn’t stop singing about (literally, I kid you not) a few months ago. But wait, […]

  3. avagacser said,

    February 19, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Don’t give her any ideas! Although, their new laundry room is a lot bigger. There’s probably ample room now for all of the kids to lay down.

  4. Jeff said,

    February 19, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    “They’re like having little friends in my laundry room.”
    …..perhaps her “little friends” will keep her sick little kids company next time they’re banished to the laundry room floor….


Leave a Reply

