I’m “Dead” and loving it

So I’ve been tackling Charlaine Harris’ series of Sookie Stackhouse books (upon which the HBO series “True Blood” is based) one at a time.

blood

I blew through the first one, “Dead Until Dark,” real quick last month. But I lost my momentum, and it’s taken me weeks to get through its sequel, “Living Dead in Dallas.” I’m close, though – when I started reading last night, I only had about 40 pages left and thought I could polish it off once and for all. But then I dozed off…

It’s not to say “Living Dead in Dallas” is dull. I certainly enjoy the flirty exchanges between Sookie and Eric, the lead vampire in Bon Temps. But it seems to be more slowly paced than its predecessor. Or the reason why “Dead Until Dark” went by so fast was because I’d already seen the first season of “True Blood,” which follows it nearly verbatim.

Anyway, with a little luck I’ll finally finish “Dallas” tonight and can move on to the next book, “Club Dead.”

(I’ve been to Club Med a couple times, but Club Dead sounds like something else altogether.)

2 Comments

  1. avagacser said,

    March 10, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    The series is totally awesome! I highly recommend it. It comes out on DVD May 19. Check it out here.

  2. Lavinia said,

    March 10, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Hello~^^
    I’m Beau.

    I’ve just finished the 1st book.

    I haven’t watched the TV series.

    Have u watched it yet ?

    How was it?


Leave a Reply

