My “Star Trek” moment

So I had a “Star Trek” (original series only, please) moment on the way home last night. Bear with me a moment as I set the scene:

st

Don Juan ripped my dress, but I kinda liked it.

I was driving along, minding my own business – as much as you can in your own car, I suppose – when it popped into my head that I haven’t seen any deer in my neighborhood for some time. Which, for my neighborhood, is pretty odd. (Yes, I live in Central NJ – wanna make something of it? We’re not entirely unfamiliar with the flaura and fauna, I’ll have you know.)

Anyway (don’t you love how I get annoyed at my own digressions?), no sooner had the thought, “Gee, I haven’t seen deer around these here parts in some time,” popped into my head that one appeared on the side of the road. I slammed on the breaks, but fortunately it was doing a great impression of a deer in the headlights.

So how does this all relate to “Star Trek”? I’ll tell you: Remember the classic episode “Shore Leave” (one of my very favorites – if not the favorite), in which every thought that struck the Enterprise crew immediately came true? Kirk with his old flame, Ruth, and Starfleet Academy buddy Finnegan (what a P.I.A.); Bones with Alice in Wonderland and the rabbit; that brunette crew member Yeoman Barrows (in photo above) and Don Juan…

For a while, I thought that the premise of “Lost” was going to be something akin to “Shore Leave.” Apparently not…

But imagine if we lived life like that – where every single thought that occurred to us became reality. That could be kinda cool, but it could also seriously suck.

I’ll leave you with a quote from Kirk in that episode:

“The more complex the mind, the greater the need for the simplicity of play.

Amen to that, brother!

Leave a Reply

