Reflections on Oscar

I spent much of last night crying.

Heath Ledger's family accepts his Oscar./Credit New York Times

Heath Ledger's family accepts his Oscar./Credit New York Times

Aside from the standard dead people montage, I can’t recall the last time I cried during an Oscar telecast. (Maybe that’s because I can’t remember the last time I watched the award show in its entirety. It’s been a while.)

But the tears flowed, and I’m not ashamed to say it. I cried when the big surprise of the night was revealed for the first time during the Best Supporting Actress award: the Academy brought back five previous winners in that category (and each subsequent acting category) to present the award to one of their peers. Wow. Somehow the award – and, let’s face it, the nomination – means a lot more when it’s preceded by a few kind words from a much-admired colleague.

I cried when Heath Ledger’s mother, father and sister accepted his posthumous award. I cried when I saw the look on Meryl Streep’s face as Sophia Loren sung her praises. I cried when I saw how grateful Kate Winslet was to win. And yes, I cried when the photos of the dead graced the screen.

Leave a Reply

