“Lost”: Yup, that’s the perfect name for this show

I am so confused.

I definitely like Sawyer's new glasses more than these./Credit ABC

I definitely like Sawyer's new glasses more than these./Credit ABC

Last night we learned that Sawyer, Juliet, Ghostbuster dude Miles, brilliant dude Daniel and Jin are hanging with their homeys – aka Dharma Initiative people – in 1974.

But that confuses me, because Daniel caught a glimpse of a little redheaded girl who was obviously Red, aka Charlotte. Even if she was 3 years old there, that would make her in her late 30s now. Unless, of course, I’m not supposed to be thinking in 2009 terms. Didn’t the plane crash happen in 2005? Is 2005 the “present” to those on the island? What happened to the Oceanic 6? Did they lose a couple years when they returned to civilization?

Combine that confusion with all of that time skipping last night – “three years ago” versus “three years later” – and I’m thoroughly confused. It hurts my head to think about it. Ow.

I did like how Sawyer – excuse me – James LaFleur – is in charge of the compound’s security. That’s rich! And what is CTU’s Michelle Dessler doing working for Dharma? And why does that guy Horace look so familiar? Haven’t they already had some kind of run in with Horace (maybe as a corpse)?

And what was the reference to the hostile indigenous people? Since when are The Others indigenous to the island?

Most importantly, will Sawyer dump Juliet now that Kate has returned?

2 Comments

  1. avagacser said,

    March 5, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    It certainly was! Thanks for explaining. It would’ve been nice if they’d just said “1974” and “1977” instead of “Three years ago” and “Three years later.” Then again, this is “Lost”!

    I read your summary and have to say I was also trying to figure out who the baby is now. There’s no way it’s Daniel, is it? His mom would be 30 years older and she could be going by another name (Eloise) now… Or is that too obvious?

  2. March 5, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Hi Ava,
    I wrote about LOST last night, and if you don’t want to come check me out, let me tell you about the timeline on The Island.

    The Losties crashed on the island in 2004. It is now 2007. The left over losties (Sawyer, et. all) have traveled to 1974. Last night the show kept flipping from 1974 & 1977. It is now 1977 when Jack, Kate and Hurley are reunited with Jin and Sawyer/Lafleur.

    Beleive me, it was a hard episode to follow!!!!


Leave a Reply

