HBO has a magic “Garden” on its hands

I was already excited about HBO’s upcoming “Grey Gardens” movie – and then I saw this trailer:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “‘GARDENS’ SECRETS – New York Post“, posted with vodpod

Wow! Drew Barrymore sounds and looks amazing! (Though my theater critic colleague swears Christine Ebersole is even better. I wouldn’t know, since he didn’t take me to see the show…) And that’s Jessica Lange as her mother.

For the uninitiated, “Grey Gardens” tells the story of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’ aunt, Edith (Big Edie), and her cousin, Edith (Little Edie). The two women became recluses in their East Hampton estate, living in squalid conditions with raccoons and cats.

The New York Post has a meaty article about the HBO film, which includes the tidbit that the director, Michael Sucsy (who bases the film on the 1975 documentary of the same name), originally wanted Renee Zellweger for the part of Little Edie Beale. Then he met Drew Barrymore, who was determined to land the role.

“When I heard that Drew was interested, I said, ‘She’s not right,'” Sucsy told the Post. “Then I heard, ‘She’s flying to meet you.’ She blew me away in a meeting. I didn’t want her for the role, but she won it fair and square. She understood the character.”

I wonder if Lange will be able to attend the premiere, considering she fell and broke her collarbone this week.

1 Comment

  1. Erin said,

    April 30, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I am watching Grey Gardens for the fifth time since it first aired…..I think the performances are AMAZING….what a fantastic film!


Leave a Reply

