“Rock of Love Bus”: Buh-bye, Beverly

Beverly bit the dust this week on “Rock of Love with Bret Michaels.” While her departure wasn’t exactly a surprise – after all, Bret’s never acted particularly romantic toward her – I’m still sorry to see her go.

all photos VH1

all photos VH1

It didn’t matter to Bret that the song Beverly wrote was cute, funny, smart and clever – I especially loved the line “so many skanks I had to beat” – Taya’s previous music studio experience (and all around general Penthouse hotness, I suppose) won him over, and he declared her the winner. Fortunately, he must’ve felt that Bev came in a close second, because he brought her along on the solo date, too.

Bev's practically catatonic listening to Taya blab on and on./VH1

Bev's practically catatonic listening to Taya blab on and on.

“Ha ha,” crowed Bev. “Too bad, so sad. I get to go, too!”

During the date – which, as usual, involved a Bret Michaels concert – Taya complained about Bev and Bev complained about Taya. Including these gems:

Taya on Bev: “Beeyotch won’t get out of my face with the rock hands. Seriously.”

Bev on Taya: “Taya is doing some sort of swivelly – I don’t know – Penthouse dance, and it just looks stupid.”

Unfortunately, Bev made the poor decision to ask Bret for his autograph for her kids rather than make any sex moves on him in the limo. I think that pretty much sealed her fate right there. Or maybe it was a few weeks ago when she decided to do this:

Straddling Bret's head probably wasn't the smartest move Beverly made during her time on the "Rock of Love Bus."/VH1

Straddling Bret's head probably wasn't the smartest move Beverly made during her time on the "Rock of Love Bus."/VH1

In the end, Bret questioned Bev’s motivation: “I gotta wonder if you see me as Bret the potential boyfriend or Bret Michaels the rock star.”

Ummm… After Heather and Ambre’s assessment last week, I think he should be asking Jamie that question! Didn’t they have serious concerns about her being a groupie? Heck, didn’t she admit that she wouldn’t be all into Bret if he wasn’t in a band? Why is Beverly being an “uber fan” worse to Bret than Jamie being a groupie?

And what was up with Mindy’s whining throughout the entire episode? It was either “In a game of love, I always lose, and I don’t want to lose this time” or “She’s (Taya) always perfect” or “My job is not to be Taya’s cheerleader; it’s to be Mindy’s cheerleader” or one of the million times she uttered the phrase “I can’t” – as in “I can’t sing,” “I can’t write a song” or “I can’t be as cute/sexy/hot as Taya.” Can’t can’t can’t can’t can’t.  It was rather annoying!

What are the chances that Bret would’ve sent Mindy home had she not taken those hot pictures with Jamie? (Of course, Bret probably didn’t realize it was Jamie’s idea in the first place… because Mindy was too busy saying “I can’t.”)

We also learned this week that Taya’s got quite the foul mouth – at least when Bret’s not around. Then, she acts all prim and proper. I can’t say I think Bret’s gotten a good idea of what she’s really like. If I were him, I’d also be concerned about that psycho ex-boyfriend of hers from last week. One has to wonder about the woman who’d seriously date anyone of his questionable caliber.

Not to mention Taya’s questionable choice in movies. “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” is her favorite? Seriously?

Of course, we’ve got to wait two more weeks before VH1 airs a new episode. And it looks to be a doozy, too, with Bret growing more and more exasperated with the remaining three. (And really, who can blame him?) “If I go through another dinner like this, I’m going to send all three of you home,” he threatens. I can’t wait!

1 Comment

  1. Suzie said,

    March 23, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    It’s been a really great show so far. I think for this show, Bret should really go for someone he truly llikes! That would make the whole show.


Leave a Reply

