“True Blood”: Are fans of the show reading the books?

Entertainment Weekly’s Michael Ausiello interviewed the “True Blood” cast at Comic-Con last week – including the intriguingly delicious threesome of Anna Paquin, Stephen Moyer and Alexander Skarsgard. (That’s Sookie, Bill and Eric to you and me.)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “‘True Blood’ scoop: Maryann and Jessi…“, posted with vodpod

While obviously they can’t reveal the direction in which their storylines are heading this season, I thought it was interesting that Eric – oops, I mean Alexander – questioned what fun it would be if the show simply followed the Charlaine Harris books verbatim.

And I absolutely was shocked when Bill (aka Stephen) pointed out that the books’ fans will only ever comprise about 5 percent of the “True Blood” viewership. Which made me wonder… why don’t all fans of the show read the books? That’s exactly how I got into the show: I watched the first season and loved it so much I had to know what was going to happen next! And for those of you who haven’t read the books, I strongly encourage you to do so… because you won’t believe what’s going to happen!

You can watch additional interviews with Michelle Forbes (Maryann) and Deborah Ann Woll (Jessica), creator Alan Ball, and Sam Trammell (Sam), Rutina Wesley (Tara) and Nelsan Ellis (Lafayette) right here.

5 Comments

  1. avagacser said,

    August 1, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Thanks, Simply T!

  2. Simply T said,

    July 31, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    I agree, Ava! After I watched the first season, I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next either! I had to have the books. Love your site by the way!!!

  3. avagacser said,

    July 30, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    You’re absolutely right, Lala. I misunderstood Stephen. But really, you would think that anyone really into the show would read all of the books! The first season got me hooked enough that I’ve read every single one of them!

  4. Donna said,

    July 30, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    As a Bookseller I have sold more books since the show started. So I think the 2 groups are converging.

  5. lala blossoms said,

    July 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    what??? they are saying the show audience is much bigger than the amount of people who have read the books.


Leave a Reply

