Is Cher in love with a Jersey boy?

Bruce Springsteen may extol the virtues of Garden State women in “Jersey Girl,” but evidently the men ain’t half-bad, either. Just ask Cher.

Are Cher and Tim Medvetz dating, or are they already married?/Credit National Enquirer

Exactly how serious are Cher and Tim Medvetz? Enquiring minds want to know!/Credit National Enquirer

According to paparazzi and tabloid reports – including the July National Enquirer cover story, above – the 62-year-old singing sensation is definitely determined to “Turn Back Time” by dating a Jersey native 24 years her junior. But he’s not just any Jersey boy… he’s Tim Medvetz, a biker/mountain climber who’s been featured twice on the Discovery Channel series “Everest: Beyond the Limit.”

Yes, as in Mount Everest, the tallest mountain on Earth. And yes, he climbed it. Twice.

The reason why this news of Cher dating Tim – or, as I look at it, Tim dating Cher – is so fascinating to me is because I actually know him.

Tim Medvetz's mother calls him "The Wild Child."/Credit Discovery Channel

Tim Medvetz's mother calls him "The Wild Child."/Credit Discovery Channel

I’ve interviewed the 6’5″ Tim, who builds and sells Harley Davidsons and hails from Colonia, N.J., a couple of times – both in conjunction with the “Everest” series and his experiences climbing 29,028-foot behemoth. I must say he’s a pretty cool dude, and I enjoyed our conversations. During the first interview – alas, I’ve only ever spoken to him on the phone or via e-mail, since he calls Los Angeles home – I was struck by the adversity he’s faced in life, much less climbing Everest.

A devastating motorcycle crash in 2001 left him part-man, part-Terminator: two metal plates in his skull, 10 screws in his left knee, six screws in his foot, a broken finger and a shattered lower back, which was fused together with bolts and a titanium mesh cage.

You can get a pretty good sense of Tim’s personality in this Discovery Channel video. To learn more about what makes Tim tick, read my interviews with him here and here.

I last heard from Tim a few months ago, when my job at a New Jersey newspaper was eliminated. He wished me well, and in typical Tim fashion, suggested I enjoy the freedom for a while and take off for parts unknown.

Meanwhile, I have no idea how serious his relationship with Cher is, though Extra last night showed them hanging out at the Malibu Fair over the weekend. To watch the video, go here.

Update

It’s time to set the record straight, and I’ve got the scoop:

There is no romantic relationship between Jersey boy Tim Medvetz and pop superstar Cher. The pair are simply good friends who hang out together (with other mutual friends).

How do I know this? Because Tim told me so. Get the full story here.

1 Comment

  1. September 11, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    […] everest, national enquirer, new jersey, tim medvetz When I heard earlier this week that someone I knew was dating – or, as stated below, married to – pop superstar Cher, I admit, I was pretty […]


Leave a Reply

