You can’t take it with you: Three cheers for Wanda Sykes’ stance on organ/tissue donation

I’m a big fan of comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, but I sure was surprised when I saw her speak about organ donation in her new HBO special, “I’ma Be Me.”

'Wanda Sykes: I'ma Be Me' Sneak Peek: Organs
‘Wanda Sykes: I’ma Be Me’ Sneak Peek: Organs

“I don’t understand why more people are not organ donors,” says Wanda. “We all really should be organ donors. I mean, c’mon, why are you holding onto it? You’re dead! Give it up. Let somebody else use it.

“Some people say, ‘It’s my religion.’ What kind of religion is that? That’s the most loving thing you can do – to give of yourself. To help somebody.

“Is your God kinda crazy or something? Are you scared when you get to heaven your God is gonna be like, ‘Where the hell are your eyes?'”

I am intimately acquainted* to organ -and tissue – donation, so I was heartened by Wanda’s message. I had never considered using humor to get the message of donation out, but hey, what she said is totally funny and totally true. Donating one’s organs and tissue (such as skin, bones, corneas, heart valves, tendons and ligaments) has the potential to save or improve numerous other lives.

*My family donated my father’s tissue when he died Feb. 5, 2007. Through that experience, I have become acquainted with the people of the New Jersey Sharing Network and the Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, all of whom work tirelessly to give hope to both grieving families and patients in need of donations.

Leave a Reply

