“Paranormal Activity” has the power of suggestion on its side

After attending the midnight screening of “Paranormal Activity” last night, I came home and went to sleep with the lights on.

It’s not so much that I was freaked out by the film’s images as I was taken by its simple suggestion: That all sorts of frightening things can happen to us while we’re at our most vulnerable, asleep and completely unaware.

That’s not to say “Paranormal Activity” isn’t scary. It most certainly is. Unsettling, too. I have never found the mundane, everyday sight of a bedroom and hallway/staircase to be as utterly ominous as I did last night. I think the film’s stars, Katie Featherston and Micah Sloat, did a great job – though I don’t understand why their characters bothered with that psychic. They should’ve just called Chip Coffey.

I’d heard the ending (which is definitely creepy) was revised from its original form. This article from MTV explains why director Oren Peli changed the ending and why. It contains MAJOR SPOILERS, so do not read it if you haven’t already seen the film.

Leave a Reply

