“Celebrity Ghost Stories” offers food for thought

Because it’s mostly full of mildly interesting stories of the paranormal, I don’t typically rely on Bio’s “Celebrity Ghost Stories” for serious discussions/thoughts on the afterlife.

And that’s why a recently aired episode caught me completely off-guard.

During a segment on Eric Roberts (brother of Julia, father of Emma), the character actor recounted his near-death experience following a vehicle accident in 1981. (According to IMDB and other online sources, Eric suffered significant facial and head trauma and was comatose for several days.) When he awoke from the coma, he said he remembered little of his life and was concerned his acting career was over.

In addition to an out-of-body experience, Eric spoke about how an elderly Romanian couple he didn’t recognize came to visit him in the hospital and gave him specific instructions for taking medication that would help him regain his memory. After writing down the names of the drugs, the couple disappeared and no one at the hospital recalled ever seeing them. Eric took the medication as they suggested and within a week, he said, his memories began to return.

While that story was interesting, it was a short, off-hand comment Eric made that really got me thinking. He was talking about how peoples’ spirits are made of energy, and that it’s not so much about the physical body – although we tend to associate the spirit with its human form. So when someone dies, Eric suggested, it’s really only the outward shell that is gone forever.

And then he said this:

“You can’t kill energy. You can only displace it.”

I find that way of thinking to be extremely comforting.

It also makes me wonder what New Yorker Joe Tiralosi – who WCBSTV.com reports was considered dead for 47 minutes before being revived – experienced and/or saw. Unfortunately, that particular aspect is not mentioned, except when reporter Chris Wragge’s co-host, Kristine Johnson, asks him outright at the very end.

22 Comments

  1. Ada said,

    November 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I found both Phosphatidyl Choline Complex and Gerovital in tablet form at amazon.com. I’m not sure but I think Astrvital and Gerovital is the same thing. Correct me anyone if I’m wrong.

  2. Anonymous said,

    September 12, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    to anonymous, you can order both phosphatidylcholine and gerovital in tablet form over the internet. Puritan’s pride sells phosphatidylcholine buy one get two free for around $15, Gerovital tablets can be purchased as well, but not in the states. Google gerovital tablets. If you have to pay more than thirty dollars for a one month supply, you are being pinched, I get a month supply for around 20, 25$

  3. Anonymous said,

    September 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    I am so happy I found this page. I didn’t know how to spell any of the drugs Eric Roberts mentions. Glad I found out here. I just wish I could get things in tablet form. Don’t like sticking needlles in.

  4. Rebecca Mondorff said,

    May 30, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    Ana Aslan’s original formula has been improved and updated and now goes by the name Ultra H-3. It is sold by UniKey Health. You can request a free CD which explains how it works. The website is: http://www.unikeyhealth.com

  5. rebecca tabbert said,

    May 30, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    where can i get aslavital and gerovital

  6. Adrian Brooks Collins said,

    April 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Hi there,

    I can’t find this clip on line any more. Do you have the names of the medication he was “prescribed”. One sounded like: oslavital coline, and I can’t remember the second one. Reply to adrcol@gmail.com. please.

    Thank you,

    Adrian

  7. April 12, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    http://www.geroplant.com/Gerovital_Injectables__Tablets-GH3_Injectables_5_ampoules-66.html

    I have been getting the injectables and and tablets from this company for over a year, they are like clock work. You need at least a 5cc needle, and google intra muscular injections so you have all the info you need to do this correctly and safely. Cheers.

  8. Becky said,

    August 13, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I don’t understand how she could have been a “spirit.” Eric’s car wreck was in 1981 and Dr. Ana Aslan died in 1988. What made him see this?

  9. Ren said,

    April 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Aslavital and the newer formula Gerovital. Go to the link above.

  10. Roxane said,

    March 27, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Regarding Eric Roberts’s “Celebrity Ghost Story” episode. Does anyone know where and/or who to contact to get Aslavital and Gerovital in injectable form please? Also, if there is a clinic, medical facility, or any other place anywhere in the world to get Aslavital and Gerovital injections? My son has brain injury and I’m desperately trying to get him treated please.

    If anyone has any contact with Eric Roberts himself I would be forever grateful to you if you would give him my email address and tell him please that my son is brain injured and I desperately need to know what brand of Alsavital and Gerovital he used and from what pharmacist could I obtain information about getting these from please. I do believe that these things could help my son to recover from his brain injury. Please help us. Thank you very much

  11. CARMEN said,

    March 26, 2011 at 3:04 am

    OOPS SORRY FOR ANY SPELLING I MISSED…
    SEEE… THANKS..
    CARMEN

  12. CARMEN said,

    March 26, 2011 at 3:03 am

    MY MEMORY IS DOING STRANGE THINS.. SO WHEN I WATCHED THIS .. I STARTED TO RESEARCH..
    DIANA.. THERE IS ANOTHER.. A FRIEND TOLD ME.

    ERIC ROBERTS FOR THE FIRST MONTH TOOK:
    PHOPHYTIDAL CHOLINE…. THEN
    ASLAVITAL…… AND OR GEROVITAL… AFTER THE FIRST MONTH..
    ANYONE FIND ANYTHING MORE PLEASE CONTACT ME..
    THANKS YOU..

  13. TS said,

    October 3, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I’m not as skeptical as the rest of you seem to be. I have had “experiences” personally. The “You can’t kill energy. You can only displace it” or energy can neither be created nor destroyed argument has long been a subject in my family concerning spirits or afterlife or whatever one calls it.

    Also, it seems like Eric Roberts uses different names for the drugs during the telling of his story. I wrote them down as best as I could and he does use a word similar to Astalavital, as well as Gerovital. I didn’t come close to getting Phosphatidylcholine down correctly.

  14. R. Mondorff said,

    October 2, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    I found Ana Aslan a Romanian doctor who founded the State Institute for Geriatric Research and Geriatric Medicine in Bucharest, Romania. She developed Aslavital or Gerovital. You can search her name or either medicine online.

  15. Hugh Jorgan said,

    October 2, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    0:19:34 And they’re telling me all about they’re here to help me, that I have to start taking phosphatidylcholine for my memory, ’cause I suffered brain trauma.
    0:19:43 I’m gonna have sere memory loss.
    0:19:46 And then after about a month of that, I he to go to the hard stuff, which is aslavital or gerovital.
    0:19:53 And they explained to me that aslavital is a youth serum, supposedly, and a memory enhancer, supposedly.
    0:20:21 >> It’ll help you.
    0:20:22 It’ll help bng back your memory.

  16. Bonnie said,

    September 24, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    It sounded like Eric Roberts said ASTALAVITAL and the other word he mentioned was Phosphatidylcholine for his memory.

  17. tami rush said,

    September 5, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    hi…this episode also made a big impression on me…..i find it still pops in my mind….glad to find this page…bright smiles

  18. Kate said,

    August 29, 2010 at 7:45 am

    This is the online web site of Dr. Ana Aslan.

    http://gerovital-online.com/anaaslan.php

  19. DIANE said,

    June 21, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Mel writes that the supplements Roberts mentions are Gerovital and astravital. Wasn’t there another one mentioned that sounded like vasta choline? I don’t recall gerovital being mentioned. There was something like drovital? Do you know any other form of the supplements mentioned? I am still unclear.
    Thanks, Diane

  20. mel said,

    January 19, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Mr. Block, the names of those drugs are Gerovital and Astravital, developed by Dr Ana Aslan who worked in Romania. This episode with Eric Roberts left a big impression on me also.

  21. MR Block said,

    December 22, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I also found that episode to make a big impression on me as well. My wife is now struggling to regain herself after a brain injury and I am interested to know the name of that ghost doctor and the name of the medications he gave to Eric Roberts. I didn’t have time or write down the anything and I can’t seem to find much on the internet about it. So if any one remembers any more please post it here. I maybe naive but I would at least like to research the doctor and the drugs Eric Roberts took to regain his life.

  22. December 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    […] know exactly how Alan feels. Which is why a recent episode of “Celebrity Ghost Stories” featuring Eric Roberts made such an impression on […]


Leave a Reply

