2010 Golden Globes: Fashion’s the thing

I’m no Joan Rivers (though I’m thrilled she’s on “Fashion Police” tonight!), but I definitely know what I like – and what I don’t like – when it comes to award-season fashions.

And of all the gowns I admired at last night’s Golden Globes (and, surprisingly, there are quite a few), I have to say Halle Berry knocked ’em dead in this black silk gown by Kaufman Franco.

Halle Berry rocked this look. Everything about her - the dress, the hair, the makeup, and yes, the boobs - looked fantastic. Go, Halle!/Credit Just Jared

My second favorite gown of the evening belongs to Kate Hudson, whose color choice – white – must have been inspired by her “Cinema Italiano” routine in “Nine.” The strapless silk crepe Marchesa gown is architecturally rich and just lovely on her.

Kate Hudson proved that white can be just as dazzling as any other color./Credit Just Jared

I’m not typically into black gowns (I think if I ever see Tina Fey in a dress totally devoid of the color I will faint dead away), but this year several are among my favorites.

This black gown played up Courteney Cox's curves./Credit Just Jared

“Cougar Town’s” Courteney Cox also looked gorgeous in this black dress, designed by Victoria Beckham of all people. Her earrings – reportedly in topaz – definitely complemented her look.

Courteney's fabulous earrings caught my eye./Credit Just Jared

As usual, Helen Mirren – also in black – looked wonderful.

Helen Mirren always looks elegant and has great taste in gowns./Credit TV Guide

And finally – I know, enough with black already! – “Glee’s” Lea Michele looked sweet in this whimsical confection.

Lea Michele definitely stood out in this strapless Oscar de la Renta gown./Credit Just Jared

Joining Kate Hudson on the complete opposite end of the color spectrum is “House” star Lisa Edelstein.

Though Lisa Edelstein's cleavage plays a big part in this gown, it's definitely pretty and flattering.

Although there were lots of rich, vibrant colors on the red carpet – Sandra Bullock, Amy Poehler and Zoe Saldana come to mind – this year I preferred the softer, paler colors.

Fergie looked feminine and elegant in this lilac gown./Credit Just Jared

Black Eyed Peas’ frontwoman Fergie traded in her sexier performance pieces for a Grecian chiffon Elie Saab dress.

Another pastel lover is Emily Blunt./Credit Just Jared

Emily Blunt’s tulle and chiffon Dolce & Gabbana gown in pale pink was a definite attention-getter on the red carpet.

Sofia Vergara's gown was another standout at the awards./Credit WireImage

“Modern Family” star Sofia Vergara made a bold choice with the above two-toned Carolina Herrera, and I think she rocked it. It’s different, but it flatters her figure and she looks beautiful.

Finally, one accessory that immediately caught my eye was Amy Adams’ uniquely beautiful bag (which, I just noticed, matches her shoes). Although I know the dress is Carolina Herrera, I have no idea whose purse that is. Love, love, love it!

Forget the dress - it's Amy Adams' purse I'm after./Credit Just Jared

If these glorious gowns are any indication, it’s going to be a fantastic awards season.

1 Comment

  1. January 25, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    […] again, Kate Hudson tops my best-dressed list. As with the Globes, Kate chose white. But while the Emilio Pucci dress exudes modesty head-on, it’s a whole […]


Leave a Reply

