There’s nothing more “Jerseylicious” than… Franklin Township?

I knew “Jerseylicious” was filmed in the general vicinity – aka Somerset County, New Jersey – but I had no idea it was in my backyard.

Welcome to Franklin Township, the fifth best place to live in America!/All photos by Ava Gacser

In the first two episodes alone, the ladies of Green Brook’s Gatsby Salon have ventured into my neck of the woods a whopping three times.

The sign may be relatively new, but the Somerset Diner has been part of my stomping grounds my entire life.

In episode 1, Olivia and her new roommate, Briella, wolfed down “disco fries” (french fries with gravy and mozzarella) at the Somerset Diner on Easton Avenue. (Quick note about the Somerset Diner: This is THE diner in my town. I’ve known it my entire life and to see it on television is just, wow, surreal.)

But that was just episode 1. Little did I know “Jerseylicious” would be back this week, with two more stops in my lifelong hometown.

Franklin tip: If you're looking for apple cider vinegar with *the mother,* then Nature's Weigh is exactly where you need to go.

Next up was Tracy and boyfriend Lorenzo (who also happens to be Olivia/Snooki’s ex), who dropped by the health food shop Nature’s Weigh (which is located in Village Plaza, right next to the diner) to buy some creatine so Lorenzo can bulk up some more. While there the pair discussed Olivia and her faults. “She’s going to be late for her own funeral,” joked Lorenzo.

Then the show moved on to the new digs Olivia shares with Briella… which just happen to be a Korman Community called AVE Somerset on Pierce Street near Elizabeth Avenue (close to the Franklin/South Bound Brook border).

What strikes me as funny is that AVE Somerset is an upscale, fully furnished apartment complex for “short or long-term stays.” Somehow I doubt management would approve of the hot pink paint Olivia and Briella used on their living room wall, but hey, I’m sure the Style Network has that covered.

“We’re from Jersey,” Olivia said while picking up a paint brush. “We don’t pump gas and we definitely don’t paint.”

Another area establishment that was featured prominently in episode 2 was Alfonso’s Family Trattoria in Somerville (which may also appear on “The Real Housewives of New Jersey” this season as Teresa Giudice was filmed eating there in September with her father), site of this ridiculous exchange between hairstylist Gigi, her boyfriend Frankie and some hapless waiter. All of them need serious acting lessons:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Gigi and Frankie (who lives somewhere in Hunterdon County) are the embodiment of the typical Jersey love story (not): The pair met at Dunkin’ Donuts at 3 a.m. He made fun of her rhinestone-studded license plate cover. She sassed him back and that was it. “Who knew he was going to like me when I told him to go f*** himself?” Gigi jokes.

Other Jersey joints featured in”Jerseylicious” include the 46 Lounge in Totowa (episode 1) and Planet Chicken in Dunellen (episode 2), the site of Alexa, Anthony and Gigi’s lunch.

“Anthony, very classy place,” Alexa cattily commented about the eatery. “I have white (wine) in a merlot glass.”

(If Anthony were super-quick on the uptake, he should have responded with this “Seinfeld” zinger: “Merlot? I never heard of it. Did they just invent it?”)

There’s no telling where on Easton Avenue “Jerseylicious” might take us next week.  Blockbuster? Stop N Shop? Unclaimed Freight?

I have no idea, but it sure is fun finding out.

20 Comments

  1. Erika said,

    February 13, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    I believe Olivia and Gigi are still living at AVE Sommerset. AVE apartment complexes are owned by Korman Communities. In my opinion, Korman Communities is a reputable company. This is the first time I found out about AVE apartment complexes. I do know about Korman Communities. I read that AVE are family-owned and operated. These are beautiful apartment complexes. These are extended stay properties, but it does look like you can lease these apartments if you are not a business traveler. I looked Online at the apartment complexes in NJ and the only one located in VA named, AVE Dulles located in Herndon, VA. Some units are furnished and unfurnished. I read that AVE purchases Aveda bath products for the bathrooms. Personally, I love Aveda products! It is too bad AVE does not have apartment complexes in S., CA. I wonder what the Rent Ratings (www.rentratings.com) are for the individual apartment complexes. In my opinion, it is always good to check out Rent Ratings Website when looking for apartments. I checked out the price for a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment at AVE Dulles is $2,000 + per month. I think that price was for an unfurnished unit. Usually, furnished apartments cost more. Thank you for reading my reply as I hope it is helpful. Enjoy watching “Jerseylicious.”

  2. Johnny said,

    March 28, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    Anybody??

  3. Johnny said,

    March 27, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    What does Frankie do for a living?

  4. avagacser said,

    October 10, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    In the first season she lived in an apartment complex in Somerset, NJ, but I don’t know where she’s living this season.

  5. Danielle said,

    October 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    where does olivia live i wanna live in that place to!

  6. avagacser said,

    September 14, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    It’s funny seeing places you know on TV, isn’t it? I remember eating at Bonefish Grill (in the same shopping center as Gatsby) soon after it opened in 2006, I believe. That was long before the rest of the country ever heard of Jerseylicious. I know the show has also filmed in Dunellen and New Brunswick. I haven’t watched the show recently, but it seems like they’re filming more in North Jersey than they used to.

  7. A. Coniglio said,

    September 11, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I grew up in Bound Brook, just 4 miles from the Gatsby Salon.

    My dad would take me for car rides on Rt. 22 from Bridgewater to Scotch Plains several times a week, going right past the Gatsby Salon. I even had a birthday party at the now-defunct Romp Around, in the same strip mall where the Gatsby is located.

    They show numerous, though short, scenes of Somerset County, such as Somerset Co. Rd 533, aka Main Street in Bound Brook. They taped a scene at the Zebra Lounge on Hamilton St, which intersects the street I lived on just 2,000 ft away.

    And it’s weird hearing them say “Call 732…”, seeing as how that was the area code I grew up with.

  8. Debbie T said,

    February 6, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I believe the restaurant that Christy and her husband go to for dinner is Green Knoll in Bridgewater NJ

  9. Danielle said,

    January 31, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    I love this show, I think it really shows girls with attitudes. I love it and since I work and subscribe to DISH Network, I get to watch it in HD because their HD is free! I love seeing exactly how bronzed Olivia is and just how much Tracy teased her hair!

    *Danielle

  10. Christine K said,

    January 16, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Does Gayle not see what a bitch & trouble-maker Doria is?? She constantly belittles Olivia….like the bratty sister we all have seen a zillion times, who does all of her nasty stuff whenever mommy isn’t looking & makes like she’s doing it all to “help” Olivia – are your kidding me? Doria is the “Eddie Haskell” of Gatsby….nothing but a HUGE bitch – she claims to be 29 years old (in every other breath)…who is she trying to convince – Us or herself?!….she looks every bit in her late 40’s!! If she’s 29, she ought to spend more time making herself look younger, losing wight & losing her frumpiness, and less time trying to undermine Olivia!! She is an unattractive, unlikeable addition to the Gatsby, Gayle – wake up!! AND, Gayle….what you did by promoting Olivia to head makeup artist & them simply talking it away just because this fat bitch showed up was very unprofessional & just plain NOT NICE!! Doria left Gatsby once before – who to say she’s so loyal to you & the salon now???

  11. nikki said,

    December 28, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Where does Frankie work??

  12. May 11, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    […] Here is a complete list of all of the faces and places featured on the Style Network show from the second half of the season. You can find recaps of the first four episodes here and here. […]

  13. April 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    […] places were featured in the first two “Jerseylicious” episodes? Find out right here. (Several places in my hometown are […]

  14. avagacser said,

    April 1, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Fantastic! Thanks, Sarah.

    I’ll definitely look for you!

  15. avagacser said,

    April 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    You’re welcome, Stacie! If you recognize any places in future episodes please let me know. I may recognize some but not all, so it’d be really helpful to me if I had an extra set of eyes looking!

  16. Stacie said,

    April 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    This is fantastic. I just watch this show because it is filmed in the area and I like to see them make complete fools of themselves. I knew the apartment complex Olivia moved into was the one on Pierce, which is around the corner from where I work and I used to know someone who lived there…definitely not sure how they allowed them to move in AND paint the living room that hideous pink. Anyway, thanks for clarifying the few area places and I look forward to seeing what is next!!!

  17. sarah e said,

    March 31, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Well…honestly…the episode with the store in it air the other night and I wondered if anyone had said anything about it, so I just did a quick search.
    I honestly didn’t expect anything to come up! I will have to tell the owner (Anthony Albero) about your blog – he will be so excited.

    The next time you stop in and see a red-haired, bespectacled lady behind the counter, be sure to say hi – that’s me! And we always have tons of Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar 🙂

  18. avagacser said,

    March 31, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Hi Sarah!

    How did you find my blog? I live in Franklin, and I blog about anything Jersey related. I’ve only been in your store a couple of times, but I recognized it immediately when they showed it on the show. Do you know when it was filmed there?

    I can’t wait to see if there are more Franklin scenes in future episodes!

    Ava

  19. Sarah E. said,

    March 31, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Oh my goodness! I was flummoxed to see someone actually blogged about this. I work at Nature’s Weigh, you may even know me 🙂
    I haven’t watched the show yet, but it sure is interesting reading the feedback!

    Sarah @ Nature’s Weigh

  20. March 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    […] And for a “Jerseylicious” tour of the Garden State, go here. […]


Leave a Reply

