The day I got “Lost”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

If you’re a “Lost” fan, you’re probably bummed out that the end is nigh. But cheer up! A new exhibition about the show is now open in New York City, and I guarantee it will make you smile.

Yes, that is EXACTLY what you think that is: Hurley's Dharma van! But that's a crushed Dharma cola can, not beer, on the dashboard. Hey, even the Dharma Initiative doesn't condone drinking and driving./All photos by Ava Gacser

I was lucky enough to attend this week’s opening reception of The Vilcek Foundation’s exhibition, “Lost: A Showcase of the International Artists and Filmmakers of ABC’s Hit Show,” in New York City. The exhibit – which is open now until June 5 – pays tribute to the diversity of the “Lost” cast and crew, which is just one of the many things that makes the series so unique.

Ken Leung (aka Miles Straume) is just one of the "Lost" cast members featured in the exhibit.

Among those featured are Nestor Carbonell (Richard Alpert), whose parents are from Cuba; Jorge Garcia (Hugo “Hurley” Reyes), whose parents hail from Cuba and Chile; Daniel Dae Kim (Jin Kwon) and Yunjin Kim (Sun Kwon), both of whom were born in South Korea; Ken Leung (Miles Straume), an Old Bridge (NJ) High School graduate whose parents are from China; Dominic Monaghan (Charlie Pace), born to Brits who lived in Germany; Zuleikha Robinson (Ilana), British-born but raised in Malaysia and Thailand; and Carlton Cuse (writer/producer), born in Mexico of Russian extraction.

But what makes the exhibition truly incomparable is the assortment of the show’s props that are on display. I’ve included just a sample of what you will see, and these photos speak for themselves.

ACK! It's Daniel Faraday's journal!

Double ACK! It's Locke's pseudo-suicide note to Jack!

Those numbers look so familiar...

What's this about a polar bear?

After seeing these – and many, many more – props on display, I felt so delirious I needed a drink. Fortunately, I came across this:

I wonder how good Dharma rum really is? Actually, this is a legitimate rum bottle from Barbados' Mount Gay Rum, according to The Vilcek Foundation's exhibition catalogue.

(For the record, that’s a display bottle. I didn’t actually get to drink Dharma rum.)

Trust me, this is but a small sample of the props on display. I don’t want to ruin the surprise, so I won’t reveal any more… just yet.

If what I’ve shown you has piqued your interest – and seriously, even if you’re a casual “Lost” fan, how could it not? – a trip to New York City is definitely in order. The exhibit is on display now through June 5 at The Vilcek Foundation, 167 East 73rd Street. Hours are 12 p.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesdays through Sundays (closed Mondays except Memorial Day). More information is available by visiting The Vilcek Foundation’s website or Facebook page or by calling 212.472.2500.

And the very best thing? Admission is F-R-E-E, so there’s absolutely no excuse to not check it out.

Now, there’s just one more thing…

As a guest at the opening reception, I had the extremely unique pleasure of meeting some of the guests of honor. Here’s the first person I ran into:

Jeff Bridges may be "The Dude," but Jorge Garcia will forever be "Dude!"

Jorge Garcia was extremely sweet. Before we posed for this photo, he struggled for a few moments to button the cuff on his shirt. When I offered to help him with it, he said, “That’s OK. Usually if I stick out my tongue I can get it.” (I know how he feels; I do the same thing while applying makeup.)

Then look who entered the room:

How can you possibly think of just ONE question to ask Carlton Cuse just days before the finale?

Executive producer/screenwriter Carlton Cuse was also very gracious. When I inquired after the welfare of one of my favorite “Lost” characters, helicopter pilot Frank Lapidus (played by the phenomenal Jeff Fahey), Cuse only offered a cryptic answer: “If I told you that it would be spoiling things.”

Carlton’s appearance was followed very quickly by this gentleman:

If I had only known Damon Lindelof was a Jersey boy, we could've shared stories of life in the Garden State.

Executive producer/screenwriter Damon Lindelof was equally cool. He told me that the much-awaited “Star Trek” sequel will be coming out in July 2012. When I asked him for an autograph, he said, “It would be my honor.”

What an amazing group of humble, talented men. It was a pleasure meeting them and having the opportunity to express – very inadequately, I admit – how much I’ve enjoyed watching “Lost” over the past six years. It will truly be missed.

Gawker.com was also in attendance last night and shot this video – check it out!

Special thanks to The Vilcek Foundation’s Phuong Pham, who found me on Facebook and invited me to the reception, and executive director Rick Kinsel, who was kind enough to permanently loan me a copy of the exhibition catalogue. For someone who was not a “Lost” devotee until more recently, Rick was perceptive enough to appreciate the show as a cultural phenomenon and is providing fans with the opportunity of a lifetime. On behalf of “Lost” fans everywhere, I thank him.

4 Comments

  1. Heloisa said,

    September 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Ohhh you are so lucky 😀

  2. May 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    […] “Lost” fan, you definitely should check it out. All of the details are available right here. In the meantime, here’s just a small peek of what you will see: Yes, that is exactly what […]

  3. avagacser said,

    May 21, 2010 at 12:18 am

    You’re welcome! It’s too bad it didn’t come up in conversation today – I could’ve shown you all the photos on my camera! Definitely check out the exhibit, you will love it!

  4. Meital said,

    May 20, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    WOW! I am at a lose for words. How incredible! My husband I are obsessed with Lost suveniers and recently bought a bunch of Dharma paraphenielia. This is something we’d love to go see. Thank you for informing us of this exhibit Ava!


Leave a Reply

