“Lost”: Stick a fork in me, I’m done

Well, “Lost” is definitely over and done with. Too bad the ending wasn’t as enjoyable to watch as this:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Jeff freakin’ Probst!!! How awesome is that?

Anyway, I digress. I guess I’m trying to postpone expressing my feelings about the finale, which not surprisingly is polarizing “Lost” fans into separate camps: those who loved it versus those who thought it was a cop-out. But for now – maybe some distance will help – I’m erring on the “not-too-satisfied” side of things.

I knew – as I’m sure any fan of the show did – that “Lost” would never be able to answer any – no, make that MOST – of the questions I had. And you know what? For about the last year that really didn’t matter to me. I’d pretty much given up on ever really knowing a lot of things, and as a result, I started enjoying the show a lot more. But I guess as the series was wrapping up, my desire to find some answers took over again. So sue me.

Onward Christian Soldiers: Jack makes peace in last night's "Lost" finale./Credit ABC

Yes, I’m disappointed with last night’s finale. Sure, there were some good things about it – most notably Jack’s sad, slow death and those fantastic final images of him lying amongst bamboo with loyal Vincent at his side before his eye slowly shuts. Heartbreaking, really. Great, great scene.

But then there were other things that bugged me… like how many of the characters were romantically paired up. What is this, an otherworldly Noah’s Ark? It was a little too convenient and pat for my taste (especially the Sayid/Shannon pairing; what happened to Nadia?).

It was the final explanation – that they were all already dead – that really got me. After six years, this is the big explanation? It frustrates me because that answer completely dismisses all of the questions fans have been pondering lo these many years: “What does this mean? What did Locke mean when he said this? What did Ben mean when he did that?” etc. etc.

None of that matters because they’re all dead. That’s a rather convenient, pat answer, isn’t it?

I’m kind of surprised – but not really – that the “Lost” finale hasn’t received (as of yet, anyway) more of a backlash. I was telling my friend and former newspaper colleague Anthony Schiavino (check out his awesome website!) that it reminds me of when “Dallas” killed off one of its most beloved characters, Bobby Ewing, and a year later brought him back and made the entire season a DREAM. Fans were angry and rightly so. Everything that had happened – everything that they had witnessed, believed and invested in for the past several months – hadn’t really happened.

To think about “Lost” in that context is mind-boggling, so I’m not even going to attempt it. And really, I don’t necessarily believe that because all of our beloved “Lost” characters are dead none of the things that happened to them for the past six years never took place. I’m sure others have brought up this point, but I read a fan’s comment on People that I appreciated (thanks to Emm, whoever you are):

“I think that what he meant about it “happening” was that when the plane crashed, maybe they needed those connections to move on and that nanosecond that Jack opened his eyes was what was formed… and I guess since they all died together they wanted or needed to form some bond before moving into the next life?”

That’s an answer I can accept and live with. And I guess maybe that’s what Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof had in mind all along: They want fans to come to their own conclusions. Which is fine. I appreciate that they think we’re intelligent enough to do so. But at the same time, I can’t help feeling ever so slightly cheated by it all.

Despite my lukewarm feelings about the finale, I still love “Lost” and remain tickled pink about a F-R-E-E exhibit of the show’s props that is currently on display at The Vilcek Foundation in New York City. If you are a “Lost” fan, you definitely should check it out. All of the details are available right here. In the meantime, here’s just a small peek of what you will see:

Yes, that is exactly what you think it is./Photo by Ava Gacser


Leave a Reply

