“True Blood”: Got Mott?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Dearest Franklin Mott,

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

Well, helllooooooo there, good lookin'.../Photo credit HBO

I’ve fallen head over heels for Bon Temps’ newest bad boy, Franklin Mott. I’m dying to know more about him (when he was turned, if he’s looking for another woman to obsess over – cause I’m available, ya know), and I sure have got my fingers crossed that Tara didn’t do him any more harm than dent his head in a little.

Side note #1: I’m finding myself writing this post in an adopted Sookie Stackhouse-like Southern accent. Kinda weird.

At any rate, while I whittle away the hours until my dear Franklin’s return to “True Blood” (and of his return I’m absolutely certain), I thought I’d pontificate on about the *history* I share with the fantabulous actor who plays him, James Frain.

A couple of years ago (March of 2008, to be exact), I attended the second season premiere party for “The Tudors” in New York City. I’d seen the show – and was definitely a fan of Jonathan (“Call me Johnny”) Rhys Meyers – but being I don’t get Showtime my familiarity with it was somewhat limited. Anyway, during the reception that preceded the viewing of the first episode of the new season, my friend and I spotted Peter O’Toole and Henry Cavill. Alas, our dear friend “Johnny,” however, was nowhere to be seen. But while my friend was busy stalking Henry around the room (she just wanted to meet him, seriously… and maybe offer to be the mother of his children), I spotted a very familiar face in the crowd…

Dang... if James had looked at me like this when I saw him in person, that would've been all she wrote.

Yup, James Frain. Actually, he looked like this at the time:

I didn't take any photos at the premiere (that seemed kind of stalker/fan-ish, considering I was an invited guest and a *respected* member of the press). But the look James is sporting here - the all-black attire and closely cropped hair - is exactly how I remember him that night. /Photo credit WireImage.com

All night long – well, as long as the food/drink part of the evening lasted – I racked my brain, trying to remember why he looked so familiar. Naturally, I never did. But his eyes haunted me all night.

Seriously, I sa-wear we locked gazes for at least a millisecond.  You know, just like I did with Rufus Sewell back in 2001 in London. But I digress…

Can you imagine these peepers burning right through you? I nearly had a hot flash while watching Rufus Sewell play "Luther" on the English stage.

Anyway, the more I thought about James (and happily Googled away), I discovered there’s a reason why he seemed so familiar that rainy March night in NYC: I’ve been a fan of his for years! (I just didn’t know his name, is all. I couldn’t very well have called him Thomas Cromwell, could I?) My passion for this particular Brit goes all the way back to 1995, when he starred in Masterpiece Theatre’s BBC production of “The Buccaneers” and made such a good impression on me playing – what else? – a creepy bad boy. I haven’t seen “The Buccaneers” in years (though I just ordered it on Amazon – it’s $8.99!), but I seem to recall his character actually raping Carla Gugino…

Side note #2: “The Buccaneers” also stars another one of my favorite British actors… no, not Colin Firth. Greg “Willoughby!” Wise.

Well, that’s all for my recollections. What? Did you think I was actually going to say we shared a hot, passionate night together?

I wish.

The closest I’ll come to that is drooling over these recent interviews with James. I hope you like them, too!

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Vodpod videos no longer available.


6 Comments

  1. August 22, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    […] interest increased tenfold when I saw him perform “Luther” on a London stage in 2001. (I sa-wear he looked directly at me. We […]

  2. Lisa said,

    August 19, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    He is lovely, love his accent although doesnt sound like he’s from Leeds. Very well spoken and yeah why isnt he a bigger start much better than Hugh Grant!

    Love this blog

  3. Simply T~ said,

    August 13, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Welcome! Excellent book and great movie! Enjoy! Yeah, Frain’s character, Forney, jumps through the Walmart window and delivers the baby. His character is in love with Natalie Portman’s character, Novalee. Again, enjoy the movie. Let me know what you think after you watch. 🙂

  4. avagacser said,

    August 13, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Thanks for the comments!

    I’m taping “Where the Heart Is” when it’s on Oxygen tomorrow night. I only recall ever seeing her give birth in the WalMart, so I’m really curious to see James! I bet he does a great Southern accent – all those Brits do!

  5. Simply T~ said,

    August 13, 2010 at 10:42 am

    I’m a HUGE True Blood fan! Tara really did a number on him, didn’t she? And poor Talbot didn’t get a chance to get those sheets clean. Franklin (James Frain) added a lot to this season. He went from sexy…to obsessive…then to all out crazy, but he could still make you laugh. That’s a bit scary. But hey, that’s what a vampire is all about…sexy but of so scary! I immediately recognized Franklin as Forney from Where the Heart Is. That is one of my favorite books by the way, and he played the character in the movie. He and Natalie Portman were adorable in the movie. So True Blood was definitely seeing him in a new light.

  6. Teri said,

    August 11, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    He is lovely, isn’t he? Why, oh why, isn’t he a bigger star. Talent looks and loads of charisma…he’s got it all.

    Lovely blog entry. Thanks


Leave a Reply

