“American Pickers”: Trash or treasure?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Move over, “Real Housewives.” Take a hike, “Jersey Shore.” I’ve got a new obsession.

What show do I look forward to more than any other these days? "American Pickers."/Photo credit History.com

Yep, that’s right. I’ve got a serious bee in my bonnet about History’s “American Pickers.” The hour-long show (which airs at 9 p.m. Mondays, as well as reruns throughout the week) follows Mike Wolfe and Frank Fritz as they criss-cross the country *picking* through peoples’ stuff in search of treasures they can sell out of Mike’s shop, Antique Archaeology, in Le Claire, Iowa. And you might be surprised to see some of the things they consider treasures.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
I’ve always had a curiosity and appreciation for old “stuff,” though I’ve never really found much appeal in antiquing. So I can completely relate to Mike and Frank’s unmitigated glee in stumbling around inside someone’s packed barn in search of items they think they can sell to collectors/interior decorators for a profit.

I also love the historical side of each episode. Many of the Americana items Mike and Frank find shed light on how products were marketed back in the day. Heck, since I started watching the show, I’ve learned more about early American motorcycles and bicycles than I ever thought I would. And you know what? It’s really interesting!

Would I personally want to spend my days picking? Probably not, but I sure do enjoy watching two people make a living at something they so obviously have fun doing.

We should all be so lucky.

2 Comments

  1. February 28, 2011 at 11:24 am

    This is awesome! I love American Pickers. I consider myself to be one… I have a ton of antiques I’ve collected as a garbage man, and I write about them: http://www.WeLoveGarbage.wordpress.com.

  2. Brandee said,

    September 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    have lots of antiques would like to contact you about.


Leave a Reply

