“Whatever with Alexis & Jennifer”: My 15 seconds of fame

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Becoming famous was the last thing I expected when I attended a taping of the new Hallmark Channel talk show, “Whatever with Alexis & Jennifer.”

"Whatever with Alexis & Jennifer" is a new Hallmark Channel talk show hosted by Jennifer Koppelman Hutt, left, and Alexis Stuart.

Well, OK, so maybe famous isn’t exactly the appropriate word to describe what happened to me on Sept. 23 in New York City. But when your only other exposure on television is an appearance at your township’s council meeting in which you complain about your mean condo board, this is a friggin’ H-U-G-E deal!

I’m not just talking about being a TV audience member. Oh, no! If that was the case, then I’d definitely be excited. But I’m super-duper, ridiculously over-the-moon thrilled because I was selected to ask the hosts a question during a Q&A segment!!!!! Even better, I wasn’t edited out of the segment – it actually aired on Sept. 24th!!!!!!!!!

As thrilling as this whole experience has been, I was a bit miffed that when we were finally allowed to take photos Alexis and Jennifer had already walked off. Ummm, hello?/Photo by Ava Gacser

My 15 minutes seconds of fame came when I asked Alexis (who is the daughter of Martha Stewart) and Jennifer a question. The audience wrangler told us the order in which we would ask our questions and said we should stand up and take the microphone when he handed it to us. The whole time leading up to my question I was in a panic, worried sick that I’d be a “real dum dum” and draw a total blank, a la Cindy Brady and her televisionitis:

I also was terrified that I’d goof up Alexis and Jennifer’s names. You know, like Bridget Jones did when it was time to introduce her work colleague, Mr. Fitzherbert:

Fortunately, my paranoia was for naught. I am happy to report that everything went off without a hitch. I came across as mildly intelligent and got a surprising amount of face time. Go, me! Here is our exchange, recorded for posterity and in perpetuity on my DVR (I’m the final question):

What I find most thrilling of all is that I was picked because of the question I came up with. If that’s not proof-positive of what a geeky writer at heart I am, I don’t know what is.

And in case you don’t know, Alexis and Jennifer have a radio show on Sirius every weekday. They are also the hosts of the show “Whatever, Martha!”  That show, which featured the pair mocking crafty clips from Martha Stewart episodes, was hysterical. The insight Alexis occasionally offers into what it’s like being the daughter of Martha Stewart is truly fascinating. I’m happy to report that Hallmark Channel plans on airing new episodes of “Whatever, Martha!” beginning early next year.

I met "Whatever with Alexis and Jennifer" contributing producer Alan Zweibel in East Brunswick last year.

On a side note, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that former “Saturday Night Live” scribe Alan Zweibel is a contributing producer for “Whatever with Alexis & Jennifer.” I met Alan last year at a talk/book signing for “Curb Your Enthusiasm” star Susie Essman, and I’d earlier seen him perform a hilarious reading of “Tommyland” by Tommy Lee in the off-Broadway show “Celebrity Autobiography.” Alan wrote an extremely touching book about his close friendship with “SNL” co-star Gilda Radner called “Bunny Bunny.” If you’re an “SNL” or Gilda Radner fan, I encourage you to check it out. Heck, even if you’re not, check it out! It’s beautifully written and very heartfelt.

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    September 23, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    so happy to see that Alexis is gone — enough of her penis shit.

    she talked badly about her mom,without whom who is she?

    Came off as a very spoiled little shit? I grew up in NYC and

    my kids have gone to all the best schools……she is a disgrace….

    So sorry Martha —don’t want to blame you for that mess —

    but don’t talk about her as something special —-she DEFINITELY

    is not — poor baby…………………………

  2. avagacser said,

    December 1, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I think they are showing reruns but aren’t taping new shows. Not sure if they’re revamping it or have ditched the idea.

  3. gary said,

    November 30, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Is there show still on-the-air ?

  4. avagacser said,

    September 29, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks, Kathy!

  5. Kathy Pohopin Beitel said,

    September 29, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Nice… glad you enjoyed yourself and the question was perfect! 🙂


Leave a Reply

