“Vampire Diaries” brings out the claws in us all

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

It’s a little embarrassing to admit I lust after enjoy watching the men of  “The Vampire Diaries” as much as I do.

"The Vampire Diaries" is the kind of show that keeps on giving.

Yet, like George Washington, I cannot tell a lie.

Week after week, the finely chiseled jawline of Paul Wesley (a Jersey boy, holla!) and the mesmerizing baby blues of Ian Somerhalder – not to mention their oh-so-hawt bods – make me weak in the knees.

And what’s wrong with that? Absolutely nothing… except that the bods in question belong to guys just a bit younger than cute lil’ me.

Ok, so make that 13 (Paul) and 9 years (Ian) younger. You got a problem with that?

Is it possible to be unaffected by the sight of Paul Wesley shirtless?

I wouldn’t blame you if you do, because I sort of do, too. You see, if I was male, this type of interest would most definitely border on creepy old man territory.

Words fail me. Thanks, Ian Somerhalder.

Now don’t get me wrong. I don’t watch “Vampire Diaries” just for the eye candy, oh no. I’m not that superficial. “Vampire Diaries” is extremely entertaining and fun to watch. Sure, it’s about a bunch of teenagers in Virginia, but don’t let that fool you. Some of them are more than 100 years old, and their lives are a lot more complicated than the average teen. There’s also plenty of action (romantic and otherwise) and lots of twists that will keep you coming back.

It's always good to have options.

I like “Vampire Diaries” so much, in fact, that earlier this year I traveled nearly an hour away to see the cast make an appearance at a mall. Surrounded by hundreds of screaming teenage girls, I felt more than a little conspicuous and self-conscious. But it was extremely hard (read: impossible) not to get into the spirit of the frenzy moment, and I wound up indulging myself even further by purchasing a T-shirt featuring the hot-to-trot Salvatore brothers.

I was pleased to get my hands on a shirt that didn't have Elena on it.

Of course, the thought did cross my mind about where on earth I would wear it (not sure I was brave enough to share my love of the show with the world), but like Scarlett O’Hara, I figured that I would think about that tomorrow.

Alas, that day of reckoning never came to pass. I got to wear the T-shirt a grand total of one time (and that was just a warm-up around the house!) before my cat, Baby, decided she’d had it up to here with my ridiculous behavior.

How many holes did Baby make? I spot four. Bad kitty!

She took her delicate-yet-oh-so-sharp clawsie-pawsies (did you expect me to say her fangs?)  to my beloved shirt, tearing several not-so-small holes in it. Their placement (all on Stefan’s side), however, makes me wonder if she agrees with me that Damon is the hotter vamp.

Funny how all the holes are on the Stefan side of the shirt. Coincidence? I think not.

Now there’s no chance of me ever wearing this shirt in public. I know holes – especially strategically-placed ones – can be sexy, but believe me, these definitely don’t fit the bill.

Thanks a lot, Baby.

The culprit.

2 Comments

  1. November 3, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Aw man I love me some dairies but damon damn hotttttt

  2. BeckEye said,

    January 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    OK, so I’m 38 but I found your blog by Googling “Ian Somerhalder shirtless.” How’s that for creepy? I was actually searching for it to prove a point to a friend of mine who doesn’t think he’s hot, but…ah, well I won’t bother trying to dig myself out of the perv hole. It’s cozy.

    I don’t watch the show (mainly because I always forget when it’s on) but I’m tempted to just for Ian’s presence. The other guy does nothing for me though. He looks like a big date-raping frat-boy lummox.


Leave a Reply

