“Twilight”: Paging Dr. Cullen, please

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

It was so nice of Quaker Bridge Mall to save Peter a spot...

If all doctors possessed the same bedside manner as Peter Facinelli, who plays vampire *dad* Dr. Carlisle Cullen in the “Twilight” films, methinks the world would be in fabulous shape.

Peter Facinelli waves to fans as he returns from a break Saturday at Quaker Bridge Mall in Lawrenceville, NJ./Photos by Ava Gacser

During a marathon 5-hour, charity-driven meet-and-greet session at Quaker Bridge Mall in Lawrenceville, NJ, on Saturday, Peter by turns displayed charm, kindness, patience and sheer fortitude. And even though he suffered a sore hand from signing so many autographs, Peter took only a short break and made sure he met every last fan.

Fans brought all kinds of "Twilight" merchandise for Peter to sign. I even saw someone with a baseball bat!

And instead of the typical ramblings I usually do when I meet celebrities (“It’s so great to meet you!” “I’m such a big fan!” yada yada yada), I chose to go with something a bit more substantive: like tell him about my 74-year-old mom, whose obsession with all things “Twilight” was at least partially responsible for me standing on line 3 hours to meet him.

My mom – who’s watched “Twilight” and “New Moon” more times than I can count (which is basically every time Showtime airs them), bought all of the books (in hardcover, natch), owns several Edward T-shirts, blankets, bookmarks and, most recently, a pillowcase – was too under the weather to meet Peter because she’s recovering from bladder cancer surgery.

So I spent what precious few seconds I had with Peter telling him not about myself but my mom (I believe I actually referred to her as “elderly,” which I’m sure she appreciates). Not exactly the most uplifting of subjects, I admit. (Especially when I want him looking smoking hot in our photo together.)  But I needed him to know that my mom was a fan, even if she couldn’t be there in person.

And do you know what his response was?

“Give her a hug for me.”

<sigh>

This moment, beautifully captured in this photo, was worth every penny and minute I spent. Note the autograph!

That just confirmed what I’d been suspecting the entire time I stood on line, watching Peter patiently sign autographs, smile (or bare his fangs) for endless photos with fans and pose holding toddlers and babies: He’s a genuinely sweet guy.

I tried to capture Peter from every angle possible...

Lookey, Peter is a Dunkin Donuts fan, too!

It also reminded me of the first interview I saw him do (which, coincidentally, was the reason I started watching Jersey girl Chelsea Handler’s late-night talk show in the first place) a couple years back, before “Twilight” was even released. Check it out:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Peter was just as charming another time he was on “Chelsea Lately,” this time with wife Jennie Garth:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Update

Here’s a video Rider University posted about Saturday’s event (it includes an interview with Peter!):

1 Comment

  1. March 23, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Hi.I love U.PLEES EMAIL ME!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

