“Blue August”: Stare deeply into Ian Somerhalder’s eyes

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Unlike all of my posts, which I try to make as articulate and well-thought-out as possible (I think), I’m writing this one totally on the fly.

Imagine walking along the beach, minding your own business and stumbling across THIS. {thud}/Photo by Planet Green

Why? Because I can’t go another second without reassurance that I’m not the only one out in Internetlandia (which is somewhere near “Portlandia”) who is drooling uncontrollably over this:

Be. Still. My. Beating. Heart.

I’m not sure which scenery is more gorgeous. Seriously, could they find a bluer ocean to match Ian Somerhalder’s amazing peepers? (Which, for the record, makes a mall in North Jersey pale in comparison.)

I just happened to see this commercial this rainy afternoon during a marathon of cheesy “A Haunting” episodes. (Honestly, is it me or do they use the same house set for every single episode? But I digress.) Planet Green is showing the same jaw-dropping “Blue August” promo during every single commercial break, guaranteeing I won’t be changing the channel anytime soon.

Smart move, Planet Green.

So obviously I’m all over this special. But wait, it’s not exactly a program you can DVR – or even watch live. From what I can discern from this confusing Planet Green press release, Ian is the *host* of a week-long series of programs beginning next Sunday, Aug. 21, at 8 p.m.

That’s right: You can’t just tune in at a particular time and watch Ian as he traverses the rain forest and witnesses the hatching of adorable – and, sadly, endangered – leatherback sea turtles on the beaches of Trinidad and Tobago. (All while wearing a pork pie hat, no less.)

Planet Green is no dummy, no sirree. It wants your attention for longer than an hour at a time.

So if you want to behold Ian in all his casually hip, environmentally conscious, non-vampirey glory, you’re going to have to tune in diligently ALL WEEK LONG.

Says Planet Green: “Throughout the week, Somerhalder will appear on-air and online via a variety of visually striking short-form features filmed on location in exotic natural locales.”

Which basically sounds like super-hot, Ian-infused commercials will be inserted into the network’s block of “Blue August” programming, which airs from 8 to 11 p.m. EDT Sunday, Aug. 21 through Friday, Aug. 26.

I’m clearing my DVR off as we speak.

Leave a Reply

