Davy Jones: It was nice to be with you

As a little kid, I was a huge fan of “The Monkees.”

Davy Jones: Hey, Mr. Tambourine Man, play a song for me.

Although I might have been too young to fully appreciate his sex appeal, I definitely had a soft spot for Davy Jones. He was the cutest, sweetest Monkee of all – and that adorable British accent was just the cherry on top. (Plus, seriously, nobody – but nobody – looked cuter sporting a pair of maracas or a tambourine.)

While I’ve lost touch with The Monkees over the intervening decades, I still have a healthy appreciation for them. I am proud to say “Porpoise Song” is on my MP3 player. I am the long-standing owner of two Monkees records, including this gem I recall begging my mother to buy off the television (and she actually did – yay Mom!):

My album cover is a bit more tattered than this one. And that drawing simply does NOT do Davy justice.

And my very favorite “Brady Bunch” episode is the one in which Davy starred. What girl didn’t fantasize about sneaking into the recording studio and meeting her music idol? And who can resist the appeal of Davy singing “Girl, look what you’ve done to me… me and my whole world”?

The final Davy scene in this episode had me apoplectic with ecstasy, no joke. I used to fantasize about Davy/Rick Springfield/Erik Estrada/Shaun Cassidy walking through my front door. As if.

Some of my favorite Monkees tunes were sung by Davy, including “Valleri,” “Someday Man,” “A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You,” “It’s Nice To Be With You,” and of course, “Daydream Believer.”

Fortunately, old episodes of “The Monkees” are not completely inaccessible anymore. Antenna TV airs episodes from 5 to 6 p.m. Saturdays and Sundays.

I have and will always have fond memories of Davy Jones and The Monkees. I’m so sorry that he’s gone, way too soon. I’m finding the lyrics to “It’s Nice To Be With You” particularly appropriate today, and a fitting way to say goodbye to Davy:

But this time is my time,

And my time is all the time

I have to be with you.

So, please, never go away,

Say you’re going to stay

And make my dreams come true,

It’s so nice to be with you.

Leave a Reply

