Maybe there’s hope for Jesse James after all

In case you haven’t heard, Jesse James has gone to rehab.

People reports that rehab was “100 percent his idea,” according to his rep, and not because jilted wife Sandra Bullock gave him any ultimatum.

“Jesse checked himself into a treatment facility to deal with personal issues,” his rep told People in a statement. “He realized that this time was crucial to help himself, help his family and help save his marriage.”

The facility he checked into is in Arizona, says TMZ, and it also – ironically – was the same center Sandra visited while doing research for her role as a drunk in “28 Days.”

Yes, unlike some other male celebrities I could mention <cough> Tiger Woods <cough> David Letterman <cough> Jesse has decided to be proactive, take the bull by the horns and face his demons head-on.

I have to wonder if any of Sierra Tucson’s group therapy sessions look like the one depicted in this recent “South Park” scene (WARNING: THIS CLIP INCLUDES EXPLICIT LANGUAGE THAT MAY BE OFFENSIVE TO SOME VIEWERS – AND IT IS DEFINITELY NOT SUITABLE FOR WORK!):

Good for Jesse, I say. Checking himself into rehab is something  the *old* Jesse I remember from his “Celebrity Apprentice” days might do. Speaking of which, those of us who watched him on that show are well aware that he’s a recovering alcoholic who stopped drinking about 10 years ago. Let’s take a look back at how he forced teammate Dennis Rodman to confront his own drinking problem:

If Jesse been successful at keeping alcohol at bay for a decade, I’m hopeful he can beat this addiction, too. But in the end, it all comes down to how much he wants to beat it. And, I’m sorry to say, he can’t do it to get Sandra back. He’s got to do it for himself.

I wish him luck.

1 Comment

  1. April 2, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Well I have to say that I agree with you when you say “I wish him luck.” in rehab. Any one that can face the problems he obviously has faces a LONG road ahead, but I said in one of your earlier post Jesse “Show Sandra the MONEY!”
    Bridgette


Leave a comment