Greg Giraldo: A (not so) funny thing happened on the way to the comedy club

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

I don’t go to Stress Factory Comedy Club very often, and when I do it’s usually to see a big star.

This is the face I was expecting to see but didn't last night at Stress Factory./Photo credit Getty Images

In the past, I’ve been lucky enough to have seen Chris Rock AND Wanda Sykes try out new material on Central Jersey audiences. And last night I was there again, this time to see one of Comedy Central’s favorite roasters, Greg Giraldo.

Except that never happened. Following opener Melvin George, Stress Factory owner/comedian Vinnie Brand came on stage. But instead of introducing the headliner, he announced that Greg had been taken to Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital (also in New Brunswick). That was it; no other information was provided.

You could tell everyone was concerned (and of course annoyed). And my concerns are continuing to grow today as I’m reading all sorts of rumors about what’s happened to Greg, which include an overdose and suicide attempt.

One thing is certain: Greg is definitely in the hospital. And regardless of the rumor, he appears to be in bad shape.

In the meantime, Stress Factory has removed Greg from its events calendar. Now, comedian Kevin Brennan is listed as appearing at the club this weekend. Which is odd, because as far as I know, Greg did perform there Thursday and Friday. It’s like his appearances never existed. Is it just me or is that a bit weird?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I hope Greg recovers and is OK. If you know anything about his condition, please feel free to post a comment or Tweet me.

Update

In what only can be considered highly ironic, I’ve learned that Greg was scheduled to perform yesterday afternoon at the 3rd Annual New York Recovery Rally at Randall’s Island Park in New York City. The event, which celebrated “the reality of recovery from addiction” and offered “hope to those who have yet to find recovery,” was held just hours before he was scheduled to take the stage at Stress Factory. I do know whether Greg actually attended this event or not.

Update No. 2

TMZ reports that Greg did indeed overdose on prescription pills but that it was not a suicide attempt. He is said to be in critical but stable condition.

Update No. 3 (Sept. 29)

I’m very sorry to report that Greg has died, according to TMZ.  I don’t even know what to say, except rest in peace.

1 Comment

  1. john doe said,

    September 26, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    so he could not pull of an Artie Lang..


Leave a comment